Posted by: sherrattsam | November 13, 2009

Twitter Starting to Pay Off in Class

Twitter 1

I have really been trying to get Twitter working for me as a teaching tool. So far, it has been very effective as a way to communicate with other teachers and interesting people around the world in order to share ideas, thoughts, resources and so on… So, it must be just as effective as a teaching tool, right?

Well, over the last week or so it has started to prove itself. I began by putting the same provocations out to the Twitter community that I was putting to my students. I had some useful responses from @todbaker, @shamblesguru, @klbeasley and @surreallyno and I shared their responses with the students. This interaction undoubtedly gave my students new perspectives on the issues they had been thinking about.

Then, I put out an update that just listed the things that my students are currently inquiring into. This included the work of Paul Watson, ex-Greenpeace and founding member of Sea Shepherd. Somehow, an employee of Sea Shepherd picked up on the update and started following my class @nist6ss. As a result, my student is now in direct contact with Omar from @SeaShepherd_Aus and is able to get information about the organization straight from the source. How exciting and powerful is that?

Last night, I put out an update about another of my students. He is trying to find out how Anne Frank’s diary created a shift in thinking. He is interested in hearing from people who have read the book and finding out how it affected their thinking. This morning, we had a reply from a former teacher at this school, @RLN6343, who is keen to put my student in touch with two of her students in Switzerland who recently read the book. It will be very intersting to see what effect our students have on each other’s learning.

Would these situations have been possible without Twitter?

Has anyone else seen similar success stories of Twitter in the classroom?

Responses

  1. On your first question, Sam, I think that it would have been possible to make the same connections but it would have taken some more directed searching and contacting. I think it was made much easier through twitter. It will be nice to see how this one progresses.

  2. Hi Jay,

    Yes, there’s something more immediate about Twitter. In fact, it almost seems to be about immediacy as Twitter updates not noticed or picked up on straight away tend to disappear off the page!

    Sam


Leave a Reply

Categories

